From Andrea Lunsford: My Principles

Document created by Karita dos Santos Employee on Sep 11, 2015Last modified by Karita dos Santos Employee on Sep 11, 2015
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Lunsford_Andrea.png

I taught my first class in graduate school, as many of you probably did too: I was getting a Master's in English and was assigned to teach a section of first-year English. I can remember very little about it except that I knew absolutely nothing about what I was doing: it was a harrowing experience, to say the very least. After finishing the MA, I taught in middle and high school—mostly grades 10, 11, and 12—and that's where I began to grow more and more devoted to students and to learn more and more about what I did and did not know. So after several years, I applied to a PhD program and was lucky enough to be admitted (though I was on the wait list for a long time). I studied a lot of literature but I also was fortunate enough to take many classes in the history and theory of rhetoric and in composition theory. Along the way, I began to establish the principles that have guided my research and teaching ever since:

* Writing may seem solitary but it seldom (or never) really is: writers are always in conversation with others, if only in their heads. So writing is social and deeply collaborative; it should bring people together.

* Rhetorical theory and history provide a strong and enduring basis for writing studies: the ancient rhetors figured out some very important points: audience and purpose are key to everything in writing; context is all-important—writing needs to fit the situation perfectly; writing is essentially about making choices.