Instructors can have different types of enrollment privileges that are reflected in the Role column on your account page.
When you create a course, two accounts are automatically created for you and appear on your account page: one Course Master account and one Student account.
What is a "Course Master"?
A Course Master enrollment is an enrollment that has full access and editing rights to the course. This includes the following abilities:
- Editing content
- Editing assignment deadlines
- Editing the roster
- Editing assignment scores
- Uploading files
- Viewing students' work on assignments
- Viewing instructor supplements (if provided)
- Adding instructors
- Adding students
In addition, only course masters can view and set the access and editing privileges of instructors.
By default, the creator of a course is a course master.
What is an "Instructor"?
An Instructor enrollment can have its access and editing privileges set by a course master. The most limited capacity an instructor enrollment can have is the following:
- Has the ability to view an assignment and its answers prior to the start date of the assignment
- Can view the entire class gradebook
- Can view but not edit the Global Course Settings page
- Can view but not edit the Manage Roster view
The maximum capacity of an instructor enrollment is almost that of a course master. The only exception is that an instructor can never view or change the access levels of other instructors.