Sapling Learning > Access Logs and Reports

Document created by Digital Support on Jan 25, 2017Last modified by Digital Support on Sep 18, 2017
Version 11Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Whenever a student enters your course or clicks on a link within your course, a log entry is created. So you can find out which students accessed which activities at what times.


Viewing the access logs

Course Management > Reports

From your main course page, click or hover your mouse over Course Management and, in the menu that appears, click Reports.



Filter activity, then view or download log

Select the desired group, participant, date, and/or activity to focus on using the drop-down menus. Leave the actions as All actions because the other choices don’t necessarily apply to every type of activity. If you want to download rather than display the results, change Display on page to Download in your desired file format.



Click on the image to zoom in.

Click "Get these logs"



Click on the image to zoom in.

 

Participation report

The participation report tells you which students have viewed a particular activity and allows you to e-mail the students (higher ed only) who have not yet viewed it.

Note: You can only generate a participation report for a Flash-based activity and not a mobile assignment.


Course Management > Reports

From your main course page, click or hover your mouse over Course Management and, in the menu that appears, click Reports.


Click "Participation report"



Click on the image to zoom in.


Choose report settings

Choose a Flash-based activity and look-back period, and set Show only to Student. For most activities, you’ll want to set Show actions to View (the Post option only applies to forums and essays).



Click "Go"

Once you click Go, you will see the report that specifies whether or not each student viewed the activity within the look back period.


To e-mail students in the report

Select the students that you want to e-mail in the list by clicking the checkboxes at the right or clicking Select All at the bottom. To quickly select all students who have not viewed the assignment in the look back period, click Select All ‘No’. It that button doesn't appear, first click Show all x to get all students onto a single page.


Click on the image to zoom in.

From the With selected users... drop-down menu, select Add/send message.


Click on the image to zoom in.

Type the desired message to the students and then click Preview.


Click on the image to zoom in.

If the preview looks acceptable, click Send message. Otherwise click Update and repeat the previous step.


Click on the image to zoom in.

Attachments

    Outcomes