iOLab > Sharing Data

Document created by Digital Support on Feb 20, 2018Last modified by Digital Support on Mar 16, 2018
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Click on the image to view the video.

Note: Not all classes use this feature. Please check with your instructor.

Click the cloud icon

Once you've recorded some data that you'd like to share, click on the cloud icon in the toolbar to open the online data repository. You can also access the cloud repository in your browser by clicking this link: iOLab Online Acquisitions Repository.


If this is your first time using the data repository, you will need to register for an account. Click Register as a new user at the bottom left, or click Facebook to register with your Facebook account.


Verify e-mail

If you register without using Facebook, you'll get a verification e-mail. Click on the link in that e-mail to verify your account.

Note: If you do not see the e-mail, it may have been blocked by a spam filter. Please check your spam or junk folders for the e-mail.

Log in

Once you are registered, you can log in using your e-mail address and password.

Upload data

Back in the iOLab application, you'll notice that the cloud icon now has an up arrow. Click on the cloud icon to upload the data you are currently viewing.

View data in the repository

Uploaded data will appear in a list in the online repository. Click on the item in the list to expand it. You can edit the title, add tags, and manipulate the data as shown in Viewing Data

Share with a user or group

To share the data with a user or group, add the user or group name to the Shared With box. In order to share with someone, they must already have an account in the online repository.

Any data shared with you will be viewable in the Shared datasets tab. You can download shared data using the download button.

To create a group for sharing, go to the My groups tab and click on the + icon. Click on the No members link to start adding members to your group. You can also click on the title to edit the name of your group.