STEM News

Alyssa Del-Valle
As a recent graduate, I remember all too well the shivers we would get as students when professors muttered the word “test” or “quiz”. If you wanted to hear a symphony of groans, add in the word now and a sea of furrowed brows and hand slams would fill the room.   Tests get a bad rap in the academic world nowadays. With test anxiety being shed to… (Show more)
in LaunchPad
Adam Whitehurst
In a previous blog post, I talked about the availability of Exercise Central quizzes in all English LaunchPad and LaunchPad Solo products published after summer 2016. This post covers additional banks of questions available in LaunchPad Solo for Readers and Writers and Writer's Help 2.0.   Beginning fall 2016, we began publishing banks of reading… (Show more)
Robert Wilson
It would be great if there were an option to open entirely LaunchPad Solo for Readers and Writers. Perhaps sub-options might include a single due date (or none) and points assigned (or none).    I make this request because I selectively assigned sections during the semester, but a student asked me to make everything available after the term. I…
Becky Anderson
This study reported on the successful redesign of a large, university level lecture course in Introductory Psychology from a traditional face to face (F2F) course into an active learning environment. The lead instructor, Dr. Don Ehlers, adapted the SQ3R (Survey, Question, Read, Review, Recite) method of learning for the structure of his learning…
in LaunchPad
Becky Anderson
As you may recall hearing from us earlier in the year, the LaunchPad team has standing Wednesday releases scheduled. As a result, we’d like you to assume that between 4 am and 8am Eastern on Wednesdays we may be having a release that may require downtime. You should not have assignments due then just in case.   Using that same model, the team… (Show more)
in LaunchPad
Jasmine Miranda